I feel like Arjuna because there is something I do not want to do, but it is my duty, and after I do it good things will happen (I will receive some good karma).  I can apply this message to the Bhagavad Gita by the good karma I will receive because I have done my dharma.  The ancient Indian perspective focused more on duties that were more serious, in my opinion, like going to war was more prevalent for more men than today in the U.S.A.  Today people see their duty as getting homework done, and going to work, which are not as life threatening tasks.  The Bhagavad Gita could be seen as a toll of oppression because during that time only a few select people could read and write, and as a written text the Bhagavad Gita was only read by the wealthy and educated.

One thought on “The Bhagavad Gita and Me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *